
"You have no Storm Codec on your PC". Keep it that way. Do not download and run "Stormcodec.exe" or StormCodec8.exe" from unusual sites.
Btw, this theme is apparently a spoof on the Storm codec plugin offered at Softpedia and other freeware distributors. The original plugin apparently handles a number of formats, but has been bundled with malicious Trojans. The "Stormcodec7.exe" installer for that plugin on the Softpedia site appears to be over 20 mb, while the malicious binaries from a couple malicious Storm sites that we collected are ~137kb for now.
The current Storm sites contain images ripped from blogs and web pages like these, where it was described as the "dominant media player in China Windows system":

The securityzone and Arbor Networks blogs are making note of the "fastflux" dns technique for the currently malicious domain used this time around at "_supersameas _. _com_".
2 comments:
Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my blog, it is about the Aluguel de Computadores, I hope you enjoy. The address is http://aluguel-de-computadores.blogspot.com. A hug.
Thanks for the inf on these Codex capers. I frequently download numerous free programs and give them a whirl. I will steer clear of these pages and check my Bins and get rid of these programs.
Post a Comment